blogitto ergo sum

January 28, 2008

#124 – It’s not easy being green I

Filed under: Uncategorized — yael [ya-el] wagner @ 01:56
Tags: , ,

There was a time in my life when the fear of being different was much greater than the need to be myself.

The [hindsight pathetic] sentence that my parents heard all too often from me was “everybody has…” and its variations “everyone is…”, “everybody does…”

As you know, it’s been years since I’ve been in that miserable state of mind. Life taught me that the price I pay for trying to be like everyone else is much higher than the rewards of being me. It’s never been easy, and being me does come with a price. However, looking constantly outside, left and right, to figure out who I am, and having to change as I move from there to here, is very consuming, not to say confusing.

So here I am. Some of you take it; others leave.Frigid

One of the worst childhood fears I remember vividly, was the fear of getting a nickname that would stick. You know, one that somehow perfectly describes one of your less desirable traits or features. Once, at the early rise of getting one, I got a hair cut so short, that my hair now seems to be as long as Rapunzel’s hair. Hard to believe, but I did. Hair grows, nicknames stay.

Coming to think about it, a good nickname that catches on right away is a demonstration of good copywriting. A nickname that catches is identical to a good brand name. Have you never met Red that the little hair left on his head was all but white and his given name was Patrick? Yes, some of these nicknames should be learned as great branding exercises. I can imagine HBS class “Nicknames- what makes them stick; what makes you tick”.

Why reminiscing now?

No good reason other than coming across one that stuck right away.

On my last trip, the one to Puerto Rico, I had [an] MP3 player with me. [More about MP3 players and iPOD in one of the next chapters]

I had Clapton of course, Mark Knopfler’s Shangri-La, Aaron Nevile’s greatest, Norah JonesX2, few Pink Floyd’s and one Coldplay. Sounds like a fair mix for relaxing flights, right? BORED

Well, as this recent experience taught me, some singers are not made for flying. Shangri-La for example, turned out to be a complete bore. Norah Jones sounded like a sleeping pill that one rolls in one’s mouth, falling asleep before even swallowing. All songs sounded the same, like listening to the same record over and over again.

Being stuck with a player with no shuffle option, it was a nightmare of boredom.

I knew things must be different on the next trip.

I would have forgotten all this if it wasn’t for Dan, who made sure that I’d have the right songs for the next flight. This includes Led Zeppelin, AC/DC, Black Sabbath, Alice in Chains and their likes. The music that won’t make you fall asleep. Rather, it’ll rock you!

As he was deleting the boredom from the mini SD, he referred to Snora Jones. And it stuck with me. It stuck so well that I can’t even think of her as Norah Jones any more.

At home, passing by her CDs as I walk the corridor back and fourth, I am a bit embarrassed. Guess she is good to sleep to. Only that I don’t sleep that much, do I?

Clipart credits:

http://www.cartoonstock.com/lowres/abr1210l.jpg

http://frecklescassie.files.wordpress.com/2007/06/bored-cat.jpg

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

