blogitto ergo sum

July 5, 2008

#133 – Through the Fire and Flames

Filed under: Uncategorized — yael [ya-el] wagner @ 22:50
Tags: , , , , , ,
RockBand

RockBand

And the fun continues.

Every time I post a “chapter” that gets significantly more comments than usual, I gain an insight. Sometimes about myself; sometimes about us all. #131 was all about us, the hidden and not so hidden singers, the real players, the couch players, the armchair masters of guitars, the RockBand players, the GuitarHeroes and those waiting to come out of the, I guess, living room? The ways we find to express ourselves, openly or behind closed doors and with headsets.

And all the new songs I listen to and learn. Yesterday, over Skype, once we were done with work this and work that, and started talking music, I got this: “TtF&tF is the hardest thing on Guitar Hero 3, so I’m told…” to which I typed “Ha? Raising eyebrows”. So I got the TtF&tF for dummies version: “Through the fire and the flames”. Almost correct. It’s “Through the Fire and Flames” Wikipedia says. MTV, in a compilation they did, added to the song’s name an extra “the”.

That was yesterday.

Since then, I Rhapsody-ed the song, which I’ve never heard of. I’ll praise Rhapsody another time. Right now I’m pressing the [volume up] button and am happy that my apartment is a corner apt. and that the speakers are not next to any wall shared with the neighbors. I let it blast the whole 7:21 min. and then again. and again. and again.

Must see:

Israel, I was told, restricted access to the one above, so this one with subtitles should work with you, as it had been tested earlier today: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DilAASI69Sc

The video, unlike the recorded song, is only 5 minutes long. Not that it should bother you. It’s overwhelming as it is. The things these hands can do. . .

YES / Tormato [1978]

YES / Tormato (1978)

I recall my excitement and joy in high school, when I got my first “Made in the UK” album. It was Tormato, by YES. As far as my dad was concerned, it was “No, No” and then again “NO!!!” When the sounds of Rejoice, the 1st song in the album, started filling the house, joy was not part of the parental behavior demonstrated.
I recall my excitement and joy in high school, when I got my first “Made in the UK” album. It was Tormato, by YES. As far as my dad was concerned, it was “No, No” and then again “NO!!!” When the sounds of Rejoice, the 1st song in the album, started filling the house, joy was not part of the parental behavior demonstrated.

Unfortunately, having the largest of the kids bedrooms in the house, had its price. it was also the bedroom sharing a wall with our dinning room/ open kitchen area. As time went by, my dad learned to recognize the sounds of the album. For someone who insisted that it’s not music, I think he did very well.

Not even “The WALL“, which i played much more often, got so much negative attention. So in our house Tormato was a success. It generated the right teenager-parent conflict of noise. Sadly, Yes didn’t share the same view. They never thought of the album in terms of success.

The only song with some success was “Don’t Kill the Whale”. If they’d only asked me. In a 2nd thought however, I’m kind of happy they didn’t. Almost 30 years later, in a music conversation, I was told that the album that I insisted to call TOMATO, is called, as a matter of fact, Tormato. Another great moment of ignorance.

My apologies, YES.

And how’s the RockBand doing? It’s all about practice. I still suck with the drums. In vocals however, I ventured today into Medium difficulty level. Did I mention it takes practice? But the Drums… dear damn drums…

As I sign off, going for my “witchcraft” book (see #131), here’s a drummer I won’t compete with:

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

