blogitto ergo sum

May 24, 2011

#185 – and God said take off thy shoes from thy feet [part I]

“And he said, Approach not hither: put off thy shoes from thy feet, for the place on which thou standest is holy ground.”

[Exodus 3:5, Webster’s Bible Translation]

and they do.  the Indians that is.

one needs to cover one’s head when entering a synagogue, but covering your head in a church is disrespectful.  high-end resort restaurants require footwear as part of a mandatory attire, yet when entering a Buddhist or Hindu temple one is required to take off shoes out of respect.  the same goes for a mosque.  and don’t forget to take off your shoes when entering an Asian home [China, India, Japan..]

i put on shoes as a self-expression act.  i may say, oh it’s just something I threw together about my outfit, and mean it too.  rarely I’d say such about shoes.  this is  the biggest challenge/dilemma biking presents to me, together with rings and earrings.

Shilparaman, Hyderabad

yet, it’s no effort to get me to take off my shoes.  barefoot is my default footwear at home, to the long-lasting disappointment and frustration of my mom. from her POV, walking  barefoot reflected on my lack of manners.  eventually she gave up on ‘ridding’ me of the barefoot habit.  to be fair, as kids and teenagers, the barefoot thing wasn’t about taking off your shoes as you walked into the house.  it was walking barefoot.  period.  and it is indeed dirty.  luckily, i don’t think my mom will read my admission here.

worshiper @ Jagannath Puri Temple, Hyderabad

few years back, seeking the advice of a feng shui consultant, i met Ran Ben Eli.  i was speechless when he said matter of fact 10 minutes into our appointment, “and you love walking barefoot.” forget psychics, this is not something one’s body language reveals.  and i had no cracked skin to telltale on me. “why?  how did you know?” i asked.  “well, it’s simple,” he said.  “you have too much energy flowing through you and your mind wonders; you require grounding.” that simple, ha?  to stress the point, plus few others, he suggested that quieting my mind would do me only good.  20-something needles and 90 minutes later i felt nothing.  back at Avaya’s office, where i was working in that home visit, it took my friends about 20 minutes to notice that I’m quieter than usual.  took two days for the “slow down; be quiet” to wear off. go figure.

@ Jagannath Puri Temple

taking shoes off  is more prominent in India than in any other place I’ve ever visited.  given how dusty or dirty the streets are, it’s the sensible thing to do.  if your store is stocked with merchandise, floor included, dusty sandals won’t do it any good.  it may be a force of habit. i didn’t inquire.

@ Shilparaman, Hyderabad

where taking off your sandals is a common practice, how can i resist “documenting” it, along with some of the creative footwear one finds in India.  and so i did.

5 Comments »

  1. Cool blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download
    it from somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make
    my blog shine. Please let me know where you got your theme.
    Kudos

    Comment by ejaculation guru pdf — April 19, 2013 @ 23:14 | Reply

    • Interesting name.
      The design is from WordPress. it’s an old one that they no longer offer. i like its simplicity, which explains why i declined to upgrade since.

      Comment by yael [ya-el] wagner — April 27, 2013 @ 04:28 | Reply

  2. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your web site and in accession capital to assert that I acquire in fact enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Any way I will be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

    Comment by Fredericka — April 27, 2013 @ 03:15 | Reply

  3. Very great post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to mention that I have really loved surfing around your weblog posts.
    In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I’m
    hoping you write again very soon!

    Comment by Milagro Para — September 30, 2013 @ 12:04 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

